Open Mic Night

Last night, Solaris went to an acoustic ‘open mic’ session at Bar 1:22 in Huddersfield, after dinner and a quick rehearsal at Ruby’s.

It’s the first time I’ve ever really been to an open mic (rather than a ‘jam session’) and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The atmosphere was friendly, non judgemental, and the host for the evening did so wonderfully. Solaris went down a treat, not least for providing something a little different between a string of guitarists singing their songs, and we ended up performing 3 numbers. 🙂

Each of the other performers presented something of interest, and one guy’s own tune ‘I’m so Happy I’m a Banker’ left me stuck with the hook in my head long after he’d left the stage, but there was one song in particular that, for some unknown reason, struck a chord with me last night (no pun intended).

Tessa x

Be My Yoko Ono
– by The Barenaked Ladies

If there’s someone you can live without,
then do so.
And if there’s someone you can just shove out;
do so.

You can be my Yoko Ono
You can follow me wherever I go
Be my, be my,
Be my Yoko Ono.

Isn’t it beautiful to see two people so much in love?
Barenaked as two virgins hand in hand and hand and hand in glove.
Now that I’m far away it doesn’t seem to me to be such a pain.
To have you hanging off my ankle like some kind of ball and chain.

You can be my Yoko Ono
You can follow me wherever I go
Be my, be my,
Be my Yoko Ono.

Oh no, here we go, our life is just one big pun.
Oh no, here we go as Yoko sings
Aieee!

I know that when I say this,
I may be stepping on pins and needles;
But I don’t like all these people
slagging her for breaking up the Beatles.
(Don’t blame it on Yokey)
if I was John and you were Yoko,
I would gladly give up musical genius,
just to have you as my very own, personal Venus.
(Hit it)

You can be my Yoko Ono
You can follow me wherever I go
Be my, be my,
Be my Yoko Ono.

Leave a Reply

