Climbing up the Cherry Tree

Recently, I decided to walk into the centre of Leeds along the canal. I’m not sure why I never have before – perhaps because I’m usually in a hurry to get to town, but I’m glad I finally found the time, as it was lovely! I love finding new parts of Leeds, which happily still occurs after being here 6 years. šŸ™‚

Since then, I’ve spent a little more time along the canal towards Armley. My favourite bit so far being an old rickety-looking cottage on one of the locks. It just feels like you’re somewhere completely else.

This morning, I walked from near Holbeck Urban Village to the Armley Mills. There was an interesting-looking ‘pathway’ heading off the canal path down to follow the river Aire, so I chose to take it. Not a great plan, as soon after it became apparent that there was no such path for very long, and in true Smith Family Fashion we were soon ‘on an adventure’ (We were lost!)

There was no way to carry on, and it felt defeatist to turn back, so (as I often do) I looked up. I took my (rather beautiful) sandals off, fastened them to my belt loop and began to pick my bare-footed way up the branches of a cherry tree to get to the top of the 10-foot wall.

And I’m still here to tell the tale! Yey!

I tried some of the cherries after, and although not the best ‘bush tucker’ I’ve ever sampled, I’m encouraged about the amount of brambles along the tow path, and will definitely continue to wander the canal on a sunny afternoon.

I’m pretty tired now though! My lasagne is bubbling away in the oven as I type, and I can’t wait.

I was in Lichfield with PBS6 last night. It was really great to see the guys and girl again. The gig was part of the Lichfield Fuse Festival, and there seemed to be a lot of people in the tent – I even got applauded for my soundcheck! I’m not sure what everyone first thought of PBS6. If you’ve never heard it before, it can be a little startling to say the least! But by the end (or even Jason Singh’s solo, mid show) the crowd were loving it!

I was in a smiley and excited mood when I got back to Leeds. And I’m happy to say I’m still smiling, though today’s adventures have left me verrrry sleepy!

Just back from visiting some friends I haven’t seen in a while, my lasagne is ready, and I’m going to try and find something that isn’t the world cup final to watch before my early night.

Hope you’ve all had an eventful weekend too. šŸ™‚

Tessa x

Leave a Reply

