Sisters of Com(mercy)

Tonight, I went to a W.I meeting. Not unusual, given that I am a member of Buns and Roses WI in Leeds City Centre, and we generally meet twice a month. In fact, I also run their choir! But that’s by the by..

This evening, the theme of the meeting was Women in Business and given that I am a woman in business, I had high hopes..

I was not disappointed. Whilst perhaps some people groan when they hear talk of USPs (Unique Selling Points) and the like, I have never considered that I have one, or moreover, that I needed one. (I fear I am rather naïve in that respect..)

But, tonight as Gloria spoke, I considered it. And I thought, what is it that makes me different to the other artists and vocal teachers that are out there..? And I thought about it, not in a ‘love of the art’ way that I have done so often before (Please visit my ‘Why Do I Do It?’ blog post from a little while ago) but from a ‘if I wish to earn a living from this, why should people choose me over others’ way.

And please, don’t get me wrong. I’m not really interested in making vast amounts of money, (or I’d not be a musician!) and getting rich quick. All I really want is to be able to make a living doing what I love without worrying about whether I can afford this or that, and having to have a second ‘steady job’ to subsidise things like food and heating!

So, back to that USP issue.. And this is what I came up with, and it stems from my meeting yesterday with the bride-and-groom-to-be.

I’m friendly and professional. And I’ll take the time to chat to you about exactly what it is you would like, or think you would like from me. Whether that’s in a series of singing lessons or workshops, your wedding reception or your parents’ 50th wedding anniversary. I love talking to people. It’s the one and only reason my ‘steady job’ has been in hospitality for the past 3 years – you get to chat to people, and hopefully make them happier for it. I’ve made sure that I’ve had a good chat with each student I’ve taken on (not in lesson time nor ‘on the clock’) to really work out what they want to learn, and more importantly, how I can teach them it. And I’ve had numerous emails and phonecalls from event organisers to which I have always replied, so that everyone is happy they know all the details they could wish to know.

You won’t get a ‘middle man’ with me, thankfully. Not anymore, and never again if I can help it. I’ll be the one who organises things with you, because I’m the one who knows exactly what is needed to be known.

Wow, I’m starting to sound like a hardline sales person.. Not my intention! But it is all true. (Past and present students/’customers’ beware, I’ll be coming after you for references and quotes!)

In this way, I guess I’m offering a bespoke service, tailored to your individual needs. And who wouldn’t want that?!

Tadaaaaa. Does that suffice for my USP, Gloria? Now, what were the other things I had to consider to be successful Woman in business?!

Email me!

🙂

Tessa x

One thought on “Sisters of Com(mercy)

Leave a Reply

