Going Alone

I’ve never been to the cinema alone. Even when there’s been a film I’ve really wanted to see, and no one to go with. I’ve just never plucked up the courage.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not hopelessly dependent on others and socially crippled without company. I’ve been to gigs on my lonesome – Jon Hendricks at Ronnies for example – but I’m safe there. I know what I’m letting myself in for, and am comfortable in personal silence, listening to the music..

Dancing, however, I am not comfortable with. I am not safe. And i don’t know what to expect. Yet here I sit, alone in a social club in Moortown, waiting for a lindy hop class to begin, when then, I’ll be able to shake my uncoordinated limbs about the quick-stepping feet of choreographed strangers.

I am quite terrified, to be honest.

Eek!

Tessa x

PS. I’ve just now got home from the session – it was quite difficult, but everyone was very nice and very supportive. Phew! 🙂

Leave a Reply

