2012: My Year of (Re)Connection – Intro

Last year, I set myself the challenge of write down something which I was thankful for every day.  This I did, and I posted them weekly to make sure I kept up with it.  You can read all about that HERE.

This year, I was faced with carrying on that challenge, or beginning a new one.

I love what showing gratitude every day did for me, and I shall indeed be continuing that.  Possibly publishing monthly, if demand dictates.  However, this year I wanted to try something else.

Then I read this: ‘twitter-by-post‘   and fell in love with the idea.

Now, I know many folk aren’t on the Twitter-train, and so that’s not where I’m going with this.  I’m just looking at ‘snail mail’ in general.

I have a slight addiction to greetings cards, post cards, and apparently paper-based stationary as a whole (I was given 4 notebook-type things for Christmas!) and have quite a collection upstairs in case there’s ever occasion that needs to be marked.  I even make cards too, when I’ve the time (There’s an example HERE in fact).

Whilst I have continued to give cards personally to friends when I feel so inclined, I have stopped using Royal Mail quite so much.  I used to be very good at sending cards and letters through the post, but recently – possibly with the fact Facebook, Twitter and Text Messages have taken over – I have become I bit rubbish.  I still buy cards (There’s a company called Juicy Lucy who I’m pretty sure I’m keeping in business..) but I don’t send them nearly enough.

So.  I have decided that I will be posting something every day in 2012.  Yes, I know that it may become pricey and saying ‘Thank You’ is a lot cheaper, but I LOVE getting post and I hope that receiving some mail might make other people smile to know I was thinking of them.  And really, 50p for taking something I’ve written to a friend anywhere in the country(/World) within a few days is pretty impressive when you think about it.  I’d rather do that than pay for the petrol to deliver it myself! 🙂

So, friends who were intrigued, that is why I have been asking for your postal addresses – I want to reconnect via the Postal Service and have you receive one of the 366 pieces of mail I send this year.

Don’t expect lines and lines of ‘catch-up’.  Just a word or two might do it, but when I think of you, I’ll tell you so.

If you want to reply, that’d be lovely.  If you just want to smile and recycle, that’s fine too.  And if you’d like to reconnect via the services of Royal Mail, send me a message on Twitter, Facebook or email tessa@tessasmith.com with your address!

Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Tessa x

ARCHIVE

CONCLUSION

WEEK FIFTY-TWO

WEEK FIFTY-ONE

WEEK FIFTY

WEEK FORTY-NINE

WEEK FORTY-EIGHT

WEEK FORTY-SEVEN

WEEK FORTY-SIX

WEEK FORTY-FIVE

WEEK FORTY-FOUR

WEEK FORTY-THREE

WEEK FORTY-TWO

WEEK FORTY-ONE

WEEK FORTY

WEEK THIRTY-NINE

WEEK THIRTY-EIGHT

WEEK THIRTY-SEVEN

WEEK THIRTY-SIX

WEEK THIRTY-FIVE

WEEK THIRTY-FOUR

WEEK THIRTY-THREE

WEEK THIRTY-TWO

WEEK THIRTY-ONE

WEEK THIRTY

WEEK TWENTY-NINE

WEEK TWENTY-EIGHT

WEEK TWENTY-SEVEN

WEEK TWENTY-SIX

WEEK TWENTY-FIVE

WEEK TWENTY-FOUR

WEEK TWENTY-THREE

WEEK TWENTY-TWO

WEEK TWENTY-ONE

WEEK TWENTY

WEEK NINETEEN

WEEK EIGHTEEN

WEEK SEVENTEEN

WEEK SIXTEEN

WEEK FIFTEEN

WEEK FOURTEEN

WEEK THIRTEEN

WEEK TWELVE

WEEK ELEVEN

WEEK TEN

WEEK NINE

WEEK EIGHT

WEEK SEVEN

WEEK SIX

WEEK FIVE

WEEK FOUR

WEEK THREE

WEEK TWO

WEEK ONE

2 thoughts on “2012: My Year of (Re)Connection – Intro

Leave a Reply

