NYC Alternatives, Day 1: Clandestine Cake Club

So, it was with a heavy heart that last night I called up to get a refund for my NYC flights.

Hurricane Sandy won: my dream trip had to be cancelled after years of wishing and weeks of enormous excitement, and I as watched the storm unfold and the news break of power-cuts and flooding and fatalities, my thoughts go out to all on the East Coast of the USA.

My plan is to reschedule my trip for the Spring, but now I am left with a week off and a need to fill it with exciting things to at least half make-up-for the sadness I have for not going to New York.

DAY ONE

Original Plan:

Today would have mostly been on an aeroplane, arriving at JFK airport (which, yesterday, saw flooded runways!) at 4:30pm local time.

My best friend’s lovely Fiancee was to meet me at the airport and (though I didn’t know it at the time – it was going to be a wonderful surprise!) take me to see the opening night of her friend’s production on Broadway! *sigh*  Then I’d have gone and found the apartment I was subletting in the Upper West side of Manhattan and settled in.

Alternative Action:

I didn’t sleep very well last night, and have been rather sad about the whole affair, and so I didn’t really do much all morning (/or early afternoon..!) but it’s OK, because I figure this would have just been travelling time anyway, so I watched various shows on my laptop (in-flight bed entertainment) and thought about what to do with my week.  Having made a few arrangements for later in the week (you’ll see) I got up, got showered and decided to address the fact that I had no food in the house, as I’d been running down supplies in preparation for the holiday.

Off I popped to Morrisons to buy sensible and savoury food stuffs, and a PUMPKIN. In my opinion, the carving of a pumpkin is the only really good thing about Halloween, so that was what I did this afternoon.

I used THIS image from LindyShirts.com and (although the photo hasn’t come out particularly well) this is what I ended up with:

I thought it was suitable, as Frankie and Ann have no heads. Lindying headless folk – how terrifying.

Anyway, then I headed off to the Clandestine Cake Club – in Horsforth – to eat lots of cake.

Last night, as I’d expressed my sadness on Twitter, the lovely Sharon (website here) invited me to her event. I’d never been to a CCC event before, though I’ve heard lots about it, so it was lovely to be invited (and I didn’t have to make a cake this time either!)

For those of you not familiar with the concept, I would direct you to this WEBSITE to learn all about it, but essentially it’s a load of people meeting in a venue (kept ‘secret’ until the last minute) bringing cakes (usually around a theme – today’s was Halloween) and eating them all whilst meeting/chatting/drinking. Fantastic.

As I said, I’d never been to one of these events before, but it was LOVELY. There were so many cakes! Seriously – look at the menu!

I think I barely made a dint in the list, but I did eat some very tasty cakes. The Toffee Apple Cake was rather delicious, and I tried a Pumpkin and Coconut cake too, which was lovely.

The highlight of the evening was chatting to the wonderful Mike about all things cake, tea, Manchester, coffee, and Twitter. He’s very lovely and a fascinating chap to talk to. 🙂

So, all-in-all, a promising start to my Week-In-The-UK-When-I-Should-Have-Been-In-New-York.

It’s no Statue of Liberty, but I did pass Kirkstall Abbey today too, which is rather pretty.

Leave a Reply

