2013: My Year of Smiles! – Introduction

For the past 2 years, I have given myself a mission.

In 2011, it was to practise gratitude and say ‘Thank you’ every day.  It was a wonderful experience – not without it’s challenges – and I blogged about it on this website.

MY YEAR OF GRATITUDE

In 2012, I decided to write to people and show them I was thinking of them. I used the Royal Mail more than ever before, and posted cards and letters (and the occasional sock) every day – and I blogged about it on this website.

MY YEAR OF RECONNECTION

This year, I was thinking of giving myself the year off. Last year’s challenge was difficult (and expensive!) and I didn’t know if I could do something like that again. I did have an idea in the back of my mind though, just in case…!

Then I got this message from my friend Lizzie:

Excuse me, what is your thing this year? I liked the thank you and the re-connection, so many people do things that are quite self centered like photo365. I liked that yours made other people smile.xx

… and it made me smile. And then it made me remember that idea that was lurking in the back of my mind. And then it made me start this year’s challenge.

Today (17th) I got another little reminder in the form of a lovely comment from someone on this website:

Tessa – I have really enjoyed reading your blogs, your ‘Year of Gratitude’ really inspired me…so at the start of this year I made it my mission to do the same! Thank-you! x

… and it made me smile also. And made me realise I hadn’t actually done anything on here about my 2013 challenge yet!

So, this year, I will be blogging about the things that make me smile, and saying thank you for their existence.

It’s funny really, people think I’m always smiley. I’m pretty sure I had the nickname ‘Smiler’ as a child.

It’s not actually always the case – sometimes I’m not happy at all. But – much like my year of gratitude – I think there’s always something, however small, that can make you smile even if just for a second. It’s important to recognise those things and be grateful for them. And that’s what I’ll be doing this year.

Incidentally, I made a playlist of songs that make me smile over on Leeds Playlist too! Check it out HERE! It’s from last April!

Thank you for reading!

🙂

Tessa x

Leave a Reply

