My Year of Smiles – Week Three

Week three already! That’s 21 days of smiles already gone.

15/1/13.ย 
๐Ÿ™‚ Today, I got to teach a Joni Mitchell song to one of my pupils. She’s in year 12, and has never heard Joni Mitchell before, so I got to play her some recordings too. Great music will always make me smile, and Joni is one of the best songwriters there has been. Fantastic. ๐Ÿ™‚

16/1/13.
๐Ÿ™‚ As I think I proved last year, I love receiving post. Today, I got a postcard from Mr Perez, in California! It was a picture of the Vasquez Rocks, which had just been featured on The Big Bang Theory, so that made me smile doubly!
More smiling came today thanks to a good loud sing along with High spirits, Raspberry Cheesecake Brownies from Jules (seriously amazing) and a funny primary text message from one Mr Napper to one tipsy Smith. ๐Ÿ™‚

17/1/13.ย 
๐Ÿ™‚ Today was the day I got a lovely comment on this here WordPress blog that made me smile. (You can see it on the conclusion to least year’s ‘Year of reConnection’ challenge)
It snowed today, and as I was say in my bedroom, I heard some children giggling down in the street. I went to the window and they were making Snow Angels in the 2 inches of snow that had fallen. It too raised a smile. ๐Ÿ™‚

18/1/13.ย 
๐Ÿ™‚ I sent this card today. It totally made me smile.

IMG_4122

I also went dancing today. There were a couple of dancers in particular who made me smile a lot. One of them was Alan – we had an awesome dance towards the start of the night, and James – we had a dance to one of my favourite Lindy-Hopping tunes; Splanky. ๐Ÿ™‚

19/1/13.ย 
๐Ÿ™‚ After arriving home from todays epic dancing/singing marathon, I needed to get something off my chest. Daryl, in his infinite wonderfulness, provided just what I needed, and when he expressed is gladness that I picked him to talk to rather than my cat, I had a little grin.
I also got some exciting post today from my Mum. She’s pretty ace, and nice post makes me smile. ๐Ÿ™‚

20/1/13.
๐Ÿ™‚ After singing at the Leeds University Swing Society dance last night, what made me smile today was the fact that someone I had been taking classes with for 2 days didn’t realise I was the same person! I know I make a bit more effort for performances than I do for classes, but still!
Also, Jordi and Jana have made me smile lots today, as they are just ADORABLE. Lovely lovely teachers, and incredibly talented in both their dancing and teaching styles. ๐Ÿ™‚

21/1/13.ย 
๐Ÿ™‚ I posted a new video today – here – and have had many smile-inducing comments, including one (and a RT) from the Jive Aces, who are rather famous in my book. They all make me smile, and be very grateful. ๐Ÿ™‚

For all the people and things to make me smile this week, I say a huge THANK YOU!

Tessa x

Leave a Reply

