2023 – a reflection

Another year and so another visit to this blog to reflect. As I read through the previous years posts, I’m taken with just how much has happened in the past few years.

The initial aim of these annual reflections was to highlight the positives of each year, lead with gratitude and so avoid the ‘good riddance’ attitude that can sometimes come along with the turn of the year.

In recent times, that has proven more difficult than I imagined it would be. This year, once again, I find myself concerned with the state of the world and all too aware of the atrocities and inequities within it. I’m concerned for the future – mine, my children’s, and the world’s. I’m not sure how I can help or what to focus on, so I’m making a commitment to myself to think more deeply about what actions I can take, take steps towards those actions, and be aware of the privileges I have been afforded in this life.

I think this desire to start looking outward and to think more about my communities (and the wider world) is probably a direct result of the reflective and personal work I have done this year.

Following my diagnosis of ADHD in 2022, alongside some other things I needed to work through, I continued with IPT therapy at the start of 2023. I found so much benefit in the sessions and truly wish I could have continued. My therapist provided me with the non-judgmental and understanding space I needed, and quietly but continuously reminded me that connection and communication with my support network is key to my happiness.

Fortunately, I have some amazing folk in my support network, and this year I was able to lean on them in times of need and celebrate successes (and life in general) with them, too. I travelled to London 3 times this year to connect with friends (and myself) – taking in a cabaret show with Molly, visiting Lizzie, watching Lawrence perform in Brixton for Mothers Day, and celebrating the end of my MA in November with some of the cohort. These travels have helped me feel closer to Me than I have felt in years – a feeling I found again at Hullzapoppin this year, where I got to stretch my hosting, problem-solving, team-work, dancing and singing muscles. I absolutely adored it.

I mentioned finishing my Master degree, which I worked on for the entire year. I’m super proud of myself and I’m looking forward to graduating (with distinction) in the Summer. Thanks to the course and the people on it, my work was presented at the VASTA conference in Mexico, I have worked with the IVA via their podcast and social media channels, I sang karaoke (and enjoyed it) for the first time in 20+ years, I’ve started taking singing lessons AND I have improved my own teaching.

I am still teaching at the University of Huddersfield, having more students this year than ever before. I unsuccessfully applied for a couple of additional jobs this summer, but the disappointment has been short-lived as I am looking forward to adding some hours to my schedule at the University of Leeds this term. I’ve also had some lovely private singing clients in 2023 too, including a Los Angeles-based celebrity, Robert Tepper, famous for his song ‘No Easy Way Out’ which was featured in Rocky IV. That was pretty cool.

Gigs have also continued to be enjoyable – I’ve sung with all the Honeybird combinations this year and had some great weekends at English Heritage sites. I performed some solo gigs on ukulele for ‘Cuppa Concerts’ in Leeds and had a last minute dep with Down for the Count which was extremely enjoyable.

My depping work also continued with choirs, although my short stint as a Rock Choir dep ended (and not as I thought it might, with me taking over some choirs). Regardless, I absolutely loved running the CAAF choir again this year, depping for U3A and Sing Meanwood, and running Jazz Voices, Open Voices, a Christmas Choir and a workshop for the excellently named ‘Deep C Divas’.

Amid all the work, I also managed to fit in some family time AND redecorate my sons room. How does she do it?!

Being a mum is not always easy, especially in a year with a number of school strikes, but both kids are doing well. I attended a ‘cygnet’ parenting course in the spring, which provided support and information about neurodivergent kids, which was helpful.

We managed to get away a few times too. Unfortunately, trips to the caravan were slightly more stressful than one would hope, but our family holiday to Portugal was brilliant and the kids still talk about it now.

I also managed to see some fantastic performances with family members – Old Man and the Pool with my husband, The Enormous Crocodile with my son, Buffy Revamped with my sister, oh and Six with myself ☺️

So there we go, an account of the positives my 2023 provided, and a commitment to try and look outward a little more in 2024.

Here’s hoping for a successful, peaceful, exciting, prosperous, equitable new year.

Take care,

Tessa x

2022 2021 2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010

Leave a comment